Licensed Firearms Owners in Somerville
UPDATE AS OF 3/23/2020 - The Somerville Police Firearms licensing office is not currently processing new applications for firearms licenses or Firearms Identification cards. We will be processing renewal applications via mail or drop-off. All renewal applications must contain the following: 1) A completed application. These can be found at our website at somervillepd.com. 2) A completed money order (not a personal check) made out to the City of Somerville. If you are over the age of 70, there is no cost. 3) If you are renewing with Somerville for the first time we will require a copy of your current LTC or FID and proof of residency in the form of a utility bill or credit card bill. You must be a current resident of Somerville to renew your license with us. Applications can be mailed or dropped off in our mail slot at 1114 Broadway in Somerville. Incomplete applications will not be processed. Voice messages left on 617-625-1600 Ext. 7330 (Firearms Licensing Office Voicemail) will be returned periodically.
Requirements for obtaining a License to Carry (LTC) or Firearms Identification (FID):
Application: Applications are to be completed prior to your scheduled appointment. At the top of the first page, please print an email address. Be sure to answer truthfully and type or print legibly.
NOTE: Question (4) of page (2) of the LTC application refers to any criminal charge brought forth against you, in the court of law, regardless of the outcome. If you appeared in court as a defendant and the charges brought against you were filed, dismissed, pardoned, sealed, etc., it is still your responsibility to inform the licensing authority. Be advised that if your application is not completed truthfully, your LTC or FID request will automatically be denied.
Change of Address Notification: Any licensee shall notify, in writing, the Somerville Police of any change of address. Such notification shall be made by certified mail within 30 days of its occurrence. Failure to notify shall be a cause for revocation or suspension of said license. See further instructions on the form at the bottom of the page.
License Fee: A $100 non-refundable fee is collected when applying for a LTC or FID. Money orders are the only forms of payment accepted. Cash is not accepted. Please make money orders payable to: City of Somerville.
NOTE: All fees are waived for applicants who are 70 years of age or older.
Identification: You must bring a valid photo identification. This includes a valid Massachusetts Drivers License and/or Massachusetts Identification Card.
LTC or FID: Renewal candidates should bring their current or expired LTC or FID.
Citizenship: Naturalized citizens are required to bring a Naturalization Certificate, which should include the date, number, and location (city/state) of naturalization. Rewewal will not require prof of citizenship.
Residency: Applicants are required to bring one (1) of the following documents to prove Somerville residency and/or business location: utility invoice, credit card invoice, certified voter registration and/or business registration.
NOTE: The forms listed above are the only forms accepted as proof of residency. Insurance invoices and/ or documents from Registry of Motor Vehicles will not be accepted.
Firearms Safety Course: First time LTC or FID applicants are required to attend a State certified Massachusetts Hunter Safety and/or Massachusetts State Police Basic Firearms Safety course. A certificate from either course will be required on the date of your appointment. This does not apply to renewal candidates.
Letter to Licensing Authority: If you are applying for an LTC or FID you must submit a letter addressed to Captain James Donovan specifying the reasons that you are requesting a license and the length of time you have lived in Somerville.
NOTE: If you are applying for the purpose of employment, you will also be required to submit a letter from your employer supporting your claim.
Appointments: All applications are processed and submitted for review by appointment only.
Current Massachusetts state laws allow persons over the age of 18, to purchase and carry pepper spray without having an FID card.